Skip to content

Yogurt … You’re Back!

January 9, 2013

Overnight oats, it’s what’s for breakfast 🙂

Lets start at the beginning.  All through high school and college I had acne.  Nothing seemed to help.  I tried all different creams and treatments without success.  Then when I was a senior in college, my mom stumbled on a health article discussing why gluten could be the cause of acne.  Figuring I had nothing to lose and clear skin to gain, I went gluten-free.  It was difficult at first, especially while still in college before gluten-free became trendy, but now it’s my norm.  I still eat bread, pasta, and oatmeal, just different brands.  To this day, I always know when I’ve accidentally eaten something with gluten.

Then a few months ago, in my ongoing quest to improve my diet, skin, and to find what works best for me, I started to wean dairy out of my diet.  I started by cutting out cheese, then just stopped buying dairy all together.  By not having dairy in the house its been really easy for me to stay away from it all together.  Just like with gluten, I’ve used alternative foods.  For example, almond milk.  Overall I feel great and the best part, my skin is still improving!  Win!

Which brings us back to yogurt.  Before I stopped eating dairy, I would eat overnight oats for breakfast almost every morning.  My acne started to make a reappearance so I stopped eating the yogurt and my skin cleared up again.  Recently I found So Delicious Dairy Free Coconut Milk Yogurt!!!  Surprisingly delicious without a heavy coconut flavor.  Mixed together with some gluten-free rolled oats, a tsp of almond butter, and flaxseed and my favorite breakfast is back!

To make the overnight oats, I mix the one cup of yogurt together with 1-2 tsp Justin’s Almond Butter, 2 tbsp raw rolled oats, and 1 tsp ground flaxseed.  Then pop the mix in the fridge overnight and consume in the morning.  Quick, easy, and filling.

Please keep in mind I’m not a nutritionist or a registered dietitian.  These food choices are simply what I’ve found to work for me through trial and error.

Have you ever tried overnight oats?  If so, what’s your favorite recipe?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

