Skip to content

2013 Goals and Resolutions

January 6, 2013

The start of a new year means new goals and resolutions.  We don’t have to wait until the first of the year to make and begin working toward a new goal, but there’s just something about January 1st that makes you want to change your ways.

GOALS

Running:
1.  Run a 5K under 30 minutes

  • This has been a goal since late 2010, I know I’m capable of finishing the distance under 30 min but just like my running before the holidays, mentally I’ve been holding back.

2. Participate in another marathon

  • A PR would be great, but I’m going to keep the pressure off for this distance and just make my goal to toe the starting line.    One of my sub goals for this distance will be to run more of the total distance (not have to walk the last 10K).

373337_271381289589862_1185591757_n

Crossfit:
1.  Front Squat 150 lbs
2.  Be able to do kipping pull-ups
3.  Clean & Jerk 120 lbs

  • Since I’ve only been doing crossfit for a month, these goals are all tentative.  I’m confident I can achieve each of these by the end of 2013, but I don’t want to set my sights too high.  I can always revise these/add more.  With any luck (and a lot of hard work) I’ll have to revise each of these sooner rather than later!

Triathlon:
1.  Finish the Tune Up Tri under 40 minutes

  • I came close to this time last year, but I know I can do better.

2011

RESOLUTIONS

Running:
1.  STICK TO THE TRAINING SCHEDULE

  • I can’t emphasize this enough.  Looking back I can track all of my disappointing races to being unprepared, and it’s completely my fault.  This year I’m determined to stick to my training plans and be as prepared as possible.  I’m already off to a good start with the Couch to 5K program.  I’ve changed the program slightly by running more in the past few weeks, but I’ve been running 3 times a week without fail from week 1.

2.  Stretch after every run

  • Every bit of discomfort I have during runs could have been prevented if I stretched more.  It takes no time at all to stretch a little after each workout and before bed, I just need to get off my lazy butt and do it!

Swimming:
1.  Incorporate more early morning swims

  • Before the Tune Up Tri 2 years ago, I was swimming every morning and I loved it.  As much as I hate getting up that early, it’s so peaceful being the only one in the pool with only the lights beneath the water surface turned on.

Lifestyle:
1.  Clean up my diet

  • This is a resolution I make every year and while I’m not where I’d like to be, I’m making progress.

Most importantly, this year I want to finish all my races feeling like this:

post tune up tri

Leave a Reply

