Skip to content

5 Miles? NBT!

January 5, 2013

Today I ran 5 miles like it was No Big Thang (NBT)!!!!!  This afternoon Hubby, the Puppy, and I headed out to a running hot spot in town so I could run and they could hike.  As they headed off into the woods, I headed down the road.  Initially I thought I would run 4.5 miles but I felt so good at the 4.5 mile mark I decided to keep going.

Before the holidays I was struggling to run more than 15 minutes at a time.  During my runs I would allow myself to use the excuse that running hurt too much and would walk.  Now I know I was struggling mentally not physically.

Dad to the rescue!

While visiting my parents for the holidays, my Dad and I did a lot of running together.  We started out running 25 min straight, per the Couch to 5K plan.  The time seemed to fly by and while I still had some lingering discomfort in my legs I was able to run the entire time.  This first run made me realize that my mind was holding me back, not my body.  It didn’t hurt to have Dad to talk to and distract me either!

Each time we went out to run, Dad and I would run a little more than the last run.  Most of our runs were on the local high school track.

Run With Dad Satellite Image

I promise we stayed on the track 😉

While boring to run in an oval for miles on end, the track was the perfect place for me.  Without the hills and Dad to talk to, the laps seemed to fly by.  On our run later in the week, I heard my watch beep 3 miles even though I could have sworn we were still on lap 9!   By the time we left, Dad had gotten me back to running more than 4 miles at a time!

Which brings us back to today … Without Dad, I started my run today a little nervous.  But armed with my iPod, the miles seemed to tick by in nothing flat.  I wasn’t running any faster or slower than usual, but for the first time in over a year I was able to just zone out and run.

After getting home I immediately consumed my favorite “recovery drink”.

I’m not convinced it really helps with recovery, but it’s tasty and has turned into my running reward since I only drink them after a run.

What’s your favorite way to recover from a run?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LCS permalink
    January 5, 2013 9:45 pm

    My favorite way to recover from a run, (or pretty much anything else), is a glass of wine!

Trackbacks

  1. 2013 Goals and Resolutions « Running for HHT

Leave a Reply

