Skip to content

New Race Schedule

March 5, 2012

Well my race schedule needs to change because … my brother-in-law is getting married.  The tentative wedding date is July 15th, which happens to be the same day as the Colonial Beach Triathlon.  So back to the drawing board.  There are a number of races in the area for me to choose from.  Maybe the Civitans 10K or the Capital Ale House 10 Mile.  Actually I’ll probably end up adding the 10 Mile anyway since that will be perfect for marathon training in August.  I’m still deciding if I’ll replace it with a running race or another triathlon.  I’m sure a few other races will pop over the next few months, but don’t worry I’ll keep you posted.

This morning I forced myself out of bed at the uncivilized hour of 4:45am to make sure I got in at least one workout today.  After stumbling downstairs, I managed to push myself through Speed & Agility.  Even though I haven’t been doing the workouts everyday, I still feel like I’ve improved over the last time I did this workout.  I was actually able to jump rope consistently enough during the warmup to actually warm up!  Keeping that energy through the end of the workout leaves something to be desired, but I just need to stick with the program and keep improving.

It turned out to be a good thing I did a workout first thing this morning.  I was supposed to go for a run this afternoon but the odds just weren’t in my favor.  Things began to go downhill when it started snowing this morning.  It’s been an incredibly mild winter and the day I have 8 miles planned, it snows!  Figures!

While it was snowing I received the following text:

So Cute!!!!!

The second thing that happened to thwart my running plans was my back.  I started out the day fine, but by about lunch time my lower back had started to hurt and by the end of the day there was no way I was going to be able to run.  So I’m sad to say I won’t have a run update for you guys, maybe tomorrow.

But the day wasn’t all bad.  Today for lunch, I tried a Mango Kombucha.  I normally can’t drink a Kombucha all in one sitting, but the mango was so delicious it was gone before I knew it.

Since my back isn’t feeling all that great, I’ve spent most of the evening with the foam roller watching TV with Hubby.  We just saw a commercial for the new season of Psych.  Hubby is so excited, and I am too!  What shows do you watch?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

