Skip to content

Travel Days

February 27, 2012

Today was a LONG travel day.  I woke up this morning on the east coast and in a few minutes I’ll go to sleep on the west coast!  Door to door it took 13 hours.

My journey started by waking up at O-dark thirty, I mean 4:30 am.  Hubby drove me to the airport, which turned out to be a good thing since I fell asleep in the car.  Woops!  But we made it with plenty of time to spare.  I’m one of those people who has to get to the airport really early.  Most of the time it isn’t necessary and I end up just sitting in the terminal waiting for my flight to board, but I’d rather have extra time in the terminal than run late and worry.

After checking in at one of the self-serve kiosks, I went to check my bag.  I wasn’t expecting them to put a tag on my bag, then tell me to bring it somewhere else to check it.  I never know what to do in that situation.  Do I leave my bag with the attendant and head to security or do I give my bag to the attendant and then wait until it goes on the conveyor belt?  This morning I decided to watch it get placed on the belt.

With such a long day ahead, I was glad to see my flight was scheduled to leave on time.

I had a stop in Dallas/Ft. Worth and decided to grab some food at one of the many restaurants.  I ordered a chicken taco salad, which turned out to be much better than expected.  Especially for airport food!

After lunch it was time to board my second flight of the day.  The flight was supposed to be on time but we ended up leaving the gate 40 minutes late.  A little over three hours later I was finally in California.  I really like California, the mountains are so pretty and overall it’s beautiful.  I don’t think I could ever live here, I’m an east coast girl after all, but it’s still wonderful to visit.

Leaving the airport in CA:

Without even meaning to, the hotel I’m staying in is part of a shopping mall with a … Trader Joe’s!!!  So excited!

I’ve already gotten some plain greek yogurt and some peanut butter.  Hopefully I’ll be able to control myself the rest of the time I’m here 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

