Skip to content

Great Weekend

February 25, 2012

Time to give an update on what I’ve been doing the past few weeks.

Last weekend Hubby and I went to visit my parents, which are always some of the best weekends.  The best day was Saturday.  I woke up early and went for a run with my Dad.  He’s always been able to outrun me, even when I was marathon training last year, and last weekend was no differnt.  But being the great Dad he is, he slowed down and ran with me, walking when I needed to even though I know he could have kept going.  One day I’ll be able to keep up with Dad for the full 7 miles he runs every morning!

After getting home from the track, I quickly showered, changed into my yoga gear, and off I went to yoga with Mom!  Mom has been into yoga for a really long time, starting before yoga became so popular.  She’s even a certified instructor.  The class was a beginner class, but it was exactly what I needed after running.  We started the class by doing some sun salutations and then spent the second half of the class working on balance poses.  Such a great class!  Running with Dad and then yoga with Mom was the perfect start to the weekend.

The rest of the weekend was spent just visiting with family and relaxing.  After we got home on Monday (I love 3 day weekends) I was hoping to get in a workout, but just didn’t have the will power.  But this week I started to get back on track by going running with friends a few days and continuing with my Insanity – The Asylum plan.

My runs have started getting better, which I thought was never going to happen.  My breathing still leaves something to be desired, but it’s getting better.  It also helps that I’ve been running on an ultra cushy track and haven’t noticed any IT band pain recently 🙂

They’re also making progress on the circut area at the track.  I’m so excited about this circut area and can’t wait to start designing my own workouts.  Maybe different exercises with a lap around the track in between each set!

My Insanity – The Asylum workotus have been about the same.  My most recent workout was Vertical Plyo.  They weren’t kidding when they designed this workout.  I was really struggling through most of it.  So many jumping exercises that require every ounce of concentration and strength.  Most of the exercises were done outside the ladder to begin with, but just when you think it’s time to move to the next exercise you get to continue doing the same one inside the ladder.  If you touch the ladder, you’re supposed to do 20 pushups as “punishment” except the pushups are easier than most of the exercises!

(Sorry about the sweat marks!)  I also did Relief for the first time immediately following Vertical Plyo.  25 minutes of non-stop stretching.  So wonderful and exactly what I needed.

And this picture was just too cute not to post!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 9:31 am

    Great post! I just got Asylum in the mail last week- plan to start it in March. Sounds like it’s pretty tough, so say a little prayer for me. Also love that you workout with your parents- that is AWESOME!

    • March 1, 2012 12:31 am

      Asylum is tough, but definitely worth it! I hope you like the program. Asylum comes with the 30 day workout plan, but also has 30 day hybrid plans for both Insanity and P90X making it really easy to mix and match.

      • March 1, 2012 11:04 am

        Thanks for the heads up & for following my blog! I hope you’ll check out my most recent interview on gastric bypass surgery! It’s really candid and I want to spread the word about it. Cheers! 🙂 CFC

Leave a Reply

